Wrap sleep sack

I made this snuggly sleep sack –

 

I used an old pair of my pajama pants (super soft!) and a knit t-shirt that had gotten stained. The pattern is from Maya Made and featured in the book Craft Hope (although, I first saw the pattern on Made). Apparently, there was a mistake with the pattern in the book, so you can download a full-size corrected pattern here. Be prepared, it will print out in 35 sheets that you then have to piece together. It was an exciting time on the kitchen floor – Mirabella the cat came by help! I made a few modifications to how I used the pattern – I cut out the back piece and folded it in half; I then placed it on the fold to get the back. I then cut out the front pieces on the fold, also using the back pattern piece (I just cut off the extra arm). This way I knew I was getting everything the same size. The pattern includes cuffs for the sleeves and an option for an envelope at the bottom instead of elastic, although I didn’t use either. My sleeves are shorter that the pattern, due to limited fabric.

I had a seam from the pajamas running down the front and back of the sack – it looked cute but I didn’t want it to be irritating for Baby Girl so I stitched strips of fabric over it. It added a little extra bulk, but much softer!

I traced outlines of monkeys from the Barrel of Monkeys game and used Heat N Bond Lite to do an iron-on applique from the t-shirt. So cute!

Notes –

  • Is the opening at the bottom large enough?
  • I ran to the grocery store to buy white thread and all they had was cotton quilting thread. It does not work the same as the general purpose polyester thread I have been using. Learn something new every day!
  • When using a decorative stich, like the leaf stitch I used on the neckline, make sure it is placed where you want it – that stuff is hard to rip out.
  • I did French seams so it would be covered and soft inside. Worked pretty well; although when I was doing one side I somehow missed the underside of the arm. That earned a moment or two of baffled looks, but it was fixed without too much trouble.
Leave a Reply

